ABBOTSFORD		Terms of Reference	
		JSSC	Page 1 of 2
CHAPTER:	COUNCIL		
SECTION:	COMMITTEES, COMMISSIONS AND BOARDS		
SUBJECT:	JOINT SHARED SERVICES COMMITTEE		
APPROVED BY:	COUNCIL		
EFFECTIVE DATE:	2014-12-15	REVISION DATE:	

<u>PURPOSE</u>

The Joint Shared Services Committee will act on behalf of the City of Abbotsford and District of Mission with respect to the following jointly owned services:

- a) Joint Water System (JWS);
- b) Joint Sewer System (JSS);
- c) Joint Transit System (JTS); and
- d) Abbotsford Mission Recycling Depot (AMRD).

<u>AUTHORITY</u>

Community Charter, Council

Water & Sewer Commission Establishment and Delegation Bylaw, 2005 (Bylaw No. 1488-2005) Abbotsford Mission Water and Sewer Services Agreements

<u>MANDATE</u>

The mandate of the Joint Shared Services Committee is to:

- a) provide governance and make decisions regarding the JWS and JSS in accordance with the Water & Sewer Commission Establishment and Delegation Bylaw, 2005 (Bylaw No. 1488-2005);
- b) perform duties as outlined in the Abbotsford Mission Water and Sewer Services Agreements;
- c) assist and make recommendations to Abbotsford and Mission Councils, regarding the Central Fraser Valley Transit System, including changes, fares, improvements, efficiencies, long term funding and governance; and
- d) advise, assist and make recommendations to Abbotsford and Mission Councils regarding the operation of the AMRD, including recycling operations, programs and funding.

MEMBERSHIP

- 1. Appointments, and removal, of members to the Joint Shared Services Committee will be made in accordance with the City's Committee Protocol Policy.
- 2. The Joint Shared Services Committee will be composed of up to six (6) voting members appointed by each Council:
 - a) three (3) members of the City of Abbotsford Council; and
 - b) three (3) members of the District of Mission Council.

The appointed members of the Joint Shared Services Committee shall also be deemed to be the appointed Council members as set out in the Water and Sewer Commission Establishment and Delegation Bylaw, 2005 (Bylaw No. 1488-2005).

ABBOTSFORD

- 3. The Chair of the JSSC will be an appointed Council representative elected from the Joint Shared Services Committee members.
- 4. The staff liaisons (the "JSSC Management Team") to the JSSC will consist of the:
 - a) City of Abbotsford, General Manager, Engineering and Regional Utilities;
 - b) District of Mission, Director, Engineering and Public Works;
 - c) City of Abbotsford, Director, Finance; and
 - d) District of Mission, Manager, Finance,

or their designates.

- 5. From time to time, representatives of other agencies may be required to attend specific meetings, as non-voting members, which may include, but are not limited to:
 - a) BC Transit
 - b) First Bus Canada Ltd.;
 - c) University of the Fraser Valley (UFV);
 - d) UFV Student Union Society;
 - e) United Way;
 - f) Abbotsford Chamber of Commerce;
 - g) School District No. 34; and
 - h) School District No. 75.

<u>POLICY</u>

- 1. The JSSC will operate in accordance with the *Community Charter*, the Council Procedure Bylaw, the City's Committee Protocol Policy, and any other applicable enactments, bylaws or policies, as amended or replaced from time to time.
- 2. Meetings will normally be held monthly, beginning in February of each calendar year, or at the call of the Chair.
- 3. Quorum will be determined in accordance with the City's Committee Protocol Policy. Vacancies (but not absences) are excluded when counting the voting members in order to establish the quorum.
- 4. Committee members must avoid conflicts of interest, in accordance with the City's Committee Protocol Policy.
- 5. The Committee will report to Council, in accordance with the City's Committee Protocol Policy.